We shall all be changed…

read by Kansas City Symphony, Steven Jarvi, conductor, at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, April 2011
Duration: c.7:30

Program notes:
We shall all be changed… is an orchestral double chaconne consisting of two harmonic progressions, one formed of a melodic wedge expanding around a sustained tone, the other a chorale setting a recurring melody. The two progressions are at first presented separately, then fragmented and combined, and finally fused into a new theme that sets the melody of the chorale over a harmonic progression combining elements of both of the originals.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s