Separations: A Lament

solo cello
premiered in production of Separations by La Catrina String Quartet, April 2004, Kalamazoo, MI
premiered in concert version by Ruth Boden, February 2013 at Washington State University, Pullman, WA
Duration: c.4 minutes

Program notes:
Separations: A Lament began as a scene from Separations, a much larger work in four acts for string quartet and dance that explored a life cycle from birth to death. The scene from which it is taken closes the second act, Faith, punctuating the tension of humanity’s simultaneous quest for and flight from God with a stark meditation on our perennial spiritual longing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s